Homemade Granola

Wow, I haven’t really been baking much. I apologize profusely! It may be because I’m working all day at my internship (fingers crossed that I get the job afterward), but it may also be because I have no income (yay unpaid internships!) so I need to find a way to fuel my baking splurges :p But I promise that I’ll post more often!

DSC_0671

Anyway, this week, I made homemade granola and it was quite by accident. I was actually trying to make granola bars, cranberry granola bars to be precise. However, I didn’t realize (and I really should’ve) that different types of oats can change the outcome of your granola bars. In other words, instead of using quick cooking oats or rolled oats, I used old-fashioned oats. This mistake results in a granola bar that crumbles to pieces, so instead I have two jars of homemade cranberry granola!

It’s actually not that hard and I can’t wait to make it again, but this time maybe with some more fun ingredients like almonds, walnuts, pecans or other dried fruits!

Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-2 cups old fashioned oats
-1/4 cup honey
-1/2 cup nut butter of your choice (I use almond butter)
-1 egg white
-1 cup dried cranberries 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F
  2. Mix the egg white until nice and frothy. Add in the honey and the nut butter and mix until combined.
  3. Add in the oats and the dried cranberries and mix until combined.
  4. Spray a 9 x 9 inch square baking pan with nonstick spray (I used coconut) or butter and line with parchment paper.
  5. Gently press the granola mixture into the pan.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes and then turn off the oven and let the granola sit in the oven for an hour.

Once the granola is finished, break it up and store in an airtight jar. The jar that I got was from Chocotoy NYC. I had bought a fresh pressed juice the other day and it came with it’s own cute little mason jar! I love the granola because it isn’t too sweet and it’s pretty simple to make. Let me know if you make it yourself and leave your own granola combinations in the comments!

Well that’s all for now🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

