Irish Disco Biscuit

DSC_0724

Okay, so I realized that while I was in London, I flippantly promised that I would make this amazing cocktail milkshake for you all and then I completely forgot about it. Whoops. Well now it’s summer and I think it’s the perfect thing to try on a lazy weekend afternoon. For those of you who have no idea what I’m blathering about, I studied abroad in Madrid for a semester (you can read about all my silly adventures here) and I spend one weekend in London where I did everything from spend some time with the security guards at a random train station (that’s got to be one of my best London stories) to wandering around the magical world of Harry Potter to dancing at Beyoncé’s Mrs. Carter Show at the O2 to volunteering at a soup kitchen and eating kangaroo burgers.

But you’re not here to listen to those stories. After the Beyoncé concert, I met up with my friends for a drink and had the most amazing milkshake ever! It was called the Irish Disco Biscuit and it was an oreo milkshake that was spiked with kahlua and creme de menthe. I still dream about it to this very day. So I decided to make it!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find creme de menthe near the liquor stores around me, so instead I just used kahlua and godiva chocolate liquor. It was absolutely delicious and I’m dying to make it again. The alcohol makes the drink more grown up while the still indulging the child within😉

Let’s get started!

DSC_0723

Ingredients:

-Vanilla ice cream (about 2 scoops per person)
-1/2 cup milk
-ice cubes (about 3 per person)
-1 shot kahlua
-1 shot godiva liquor
-oreo cookies (as many as your heart desires)

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

That’s it🙂 One day, I’ll make the real Irish Disco Biscuit, but until then these are just as good. Oh and if you don’t like oreos or kahlua, feel free to try other milkshake combinations. I feel like a peach milkshake with some bourbon would be fantastic or maybe banana with rum? Let me know which ones you try!

DSC_0725

Happy Saturday! Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

