Homemade Caramel

Whoaaaa I found this sitting quietly in my draft box and realized that, whoops, I never posted it. I think it&s because I wanted to get better photos but, I haven’t had a chance to remake the caramel because I STILL have caramel from the last batch. Sighhhhh I’m going to have to wait to make caramel again. But there’s no reason as to why you should waitπŸ™‚

Here we go!

As you may know, I am a little obsessed with chocolate. Okay, I’m really obsessed with it, but I’m here to tell you that caramel is a close second. I love everything caramel, especially salted caramel. I’d never made caramel before because it seemed super hard to make. Well, I had attempted it a few times and failed. But this time, I found a promising recipe, watched the sugar carefully and succeeded!

DSC_0681

 

It seems really hard and I know a lot of recipes call for candy thermometers. However I was able to make this recipe without a candy thermometer. The recipe I found was from, of course, bon appetit. I enjoyed making it so much, I made another batch before I even finished the first.

1908361_10154377888815587_7961840368549289394_n

The recipe is easily doubled or halved or if you’re caramel obsessed like me, quadrupled. This is probably why I have so much. The jar contains about 2 batches of the caramel and the squeeze bottle contains 4. So stay tuned for lots of recipes involving caramel. Afterwards, I think I’ll try making salted caramel. Because salted caramel is just the perfect salty-sweet treat!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-2 tbsp water
-2 tbsp heavy cream
-2 tbsp butter

Directions:

  1. Bring the water and sugar to a boil over medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Increase heat to medium-high and cook without stirring the sugar until it turns a deep amber in color, about 5 to 8 minutes.
  2. Once the caramel hits amber brown, immediately remove from heat and add in the heavy cream and butter. Whisk to combine and let it cool.

I told you it would be easyπŸ™‚

Hugs and puppies,

Mimi

 

Leave a Reply

