Disney cupcakes!

DSC_0657

Hi everyone!

My name is Mimi and in case you didn’t know, I am casually in love with Disney.

DSC_0647

I love all things disney and I’ve watched almost of their movies. More than once. Including the sequels. I may have a problem. But I don’t mind. People can say whatever they want about Disney, but I will still remain absolutely obsessed with Disney because it was my childhood and their movies never fail to make me feel happy and wonderful. But actually. If you can guess all the disney movies that I represented in the cupcakes, you will win a virtual high five and we should all watch disney movies together.

DSC_0650

Anyway, this weekend was a baking milestone of sorts for me. I decided to make my own fondant and let’s just say that I felt like my cupcake/cake decorating game just went up a whole new level.  I’m not usually a huge fan of the tooth-achingly sweet sugar-y treats, I know that’s weird considering that I love baking cupcakes and stuff, but I hadn’t really been interested in fondant. However, after I found out that my friend, Julia, was going to be interning at Disney for three months and flying to California for said internship, I knew I had to make some amazing cupcakes for her surprise going away party.  The party was today and she was thoroughly surprised🙂 These are also probably my best baking achievement of all time. Here’s to more fun themed cupcakes!

DSC_0652

To make disney cupcakes, I knew that I couldn’t just do ordinary cupcakes with oreo cookies for mickey ears. I mean that’s not a bad idea, but I wanted to make something really DISNEY and something that would blow her mind. So I took a deep breath, bought some marshmallows and 2 pounds of powdered sugar and thus began my journey to make fondant. It wasn’t bad at all and it was super easy!
DSC_0648

For the cupcakes, I made regular vanilla cupcakes and used whipped ganache frosting as well as meringue frosting. It was quite fun to make and because fondant is so tooth achingly sweet, I tried to keep the cupcake from being equally sweet.

DSC_0653

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:
-1 stick unsalted butter, softened
-1/4 cup granulated sugar
-1 egg
-1 tsp vanilla paste
-1/2 cup milk
-1 cup AP Flour
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp baking powder
Decoration
-Chocolate ganache frosting
Meringue Frosting 
Fondant

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F and line a standard 12-cup cupcake tin with paper liners.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, and baking powder and set aside.
  3. Using an electric mixer or a whisk, beat the sugar and butter together until it’s nice and fluffy.
  4. Add in the egg and the vanilla paste and mix until combined.
  5. Alternately add in the milk and flour in two different batches, mixing until the flour and the milk are just incorporated. Do not over mix or you will end up with tunneling (hard cupcakes with large air bubbles, aka not so very delicious cupcakes).
  6. Spoon the batter into the paper liners about 2/3 full.
  7. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the center of the cupcake comes out clean.
  8. Cool the cupcakes on a wire rack.
  9. Shape the fondant into your favorite disney shapes. I used a variety of fondant colors to make various disney images such as mickey’s ears, minnie and daisy’s bows, goofy’s and donald’s hats, stitch ears, mickey’s shoes, Pluto’s color and a whole lot of other characters. Let the fondant firm up on a wax paper lined baking sheet. If your room is too warm, place them in the fridge. Trust me it’s easier to handle if they aren’t sticky. Use plenty of powdered sugar. You can always wipe it excess with a damp paper towel once the fondant has set. 
  10. Make the frosting for your cupcakes and frost them.
  11. Once you frost the cupcakes, especially with the ganache, allow the frosting to set a little bit before placing the fondant decorations on top. DSC_0654

And that’s it! I had so much fun making these and everyone at Julia’s farewell party loved them. I can’t wait to make more themed cupcakes in the future!

DSC_0651

Let me know if you want to see any other nerd themed cupcakes in the comments!

DSC_0659

DSC_0655

DSC_0657

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

5 thoughts on “Disney cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: Marshmallow Fondant | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

