Mini Breakfast Quiches

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.54.44 PM

I haven’t been updating the blog post in a long time, for this I deeply apologize. I have been baking! I swear! I just have a bunch of drafts sitting in my dash and I haven’t had the time to edit and upload photos to them. I apologize. I think it’s because I’ve been baking, but the food doesn’t look as good appearance wise.  For example, my chocolate crinkle cookies. I made really delicious chocolate crinkle cookies, but they were more like balls than flat discs that cookies should be like. Oh well. I promise to take photos regardless.

DSC_0676

Failed Pie #1 Don’t worry though, I have a good use for it🙂

This morning, I made breakfast quiches, mini ones.  I had been experimenting with apple pie. I made two, but I don’t think they’re exactly perfect and blog ready yet.  My first pie came out too dry and my second one was good, but still lacked a little something something.  Also since I was running low on AP flour, I had been experimenting with wheat flour, so the crusts were a bit of experiment as well.  whoops, I’m getting a little off topic. Hehe I guess I just wanted to update you all on my recent baking exploits. I’ve also been kind of focused on building my food blog instagram🙂

Anyway, let’s get back to these quiches.  I made them pretty simple, with cheddar cheese, caramelized onions and bacon. Of course if you’re vegan, you can omit the bacon and use egg and cheese substitutes and if you’re gluten free you can omit the crust all together. Either way, they were delicious. I made 12 and by the end of breakfast Pat and I had already eaten 7. Whoops?

Well let’s get started!

Ingredients:

Whole wheet crust
-two cups whole wheat flour
-6 tbsp unsalted butter
-1/4 cup crisco
-6 tbsp ice cold water
-Salt and Pepper
Filling
-3 slices bacon
-1/2 onion
-1 cup grated cheddar cheese
-2 eggs
-1/4 cup greek yogurt
-1/2 cup heavy cream
 

Directions:

  1. Make the whole wheat crust: In a large bowl, mix together the whole wheat flour and the salt. Cut the butter and crisco into the whole wheat flour. Once the butter and crisco are cut to the size of peas and the mixture is coarse, slowly add in the ice cold water 3 tablespoons at a time and mix until the dough just comes together.  Don’t over knead the dough, since this will cause gluten to form, however unlike AP flour, whole wheat has less gluten so it shouldn’t be too bad. Divide the dough into two portions and wrap in plastic wrap.  Place in fridge and let chill for 1 hour.
  2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 ºF.  Place the bacon slices on a foil lined baking tray and bake until crispy (about 15 to 20 minutes).  Once the bacon is crispy, remove from the oven and slice into bite sized pieces. If you are going to snack, make sure to bake more bacon ;) 
  3. Grate the cheese and dice the onion.
  4. Melt some butter into a frying pan over low heat and add the diced onion. Sprinkle the onion with a pinch of salt. Cook the onions over a low flame until they turn nice and caramelized (about 10 minutes).
  5. While the onions are caramelizing, make the filling. Mix the eggs, greek yogurt and heavy cream in a pourable container (such as a 2 cup liquid measuring cup). Whisk in the salt and pepper, about a three fingered pinch of each.
  6. Once the dough has rested, spray non-stick spray (such as Pam) over a 12 cup muffin tin.  Divide the chilled dough into 12 equally sized balls.  Flatten the dough until it’s about 1/2 inch in thickness and line the muffin cups with the dough. Press the dough gently into the muffin cups.
  7. Layer some grated cheese over the crust, add the caramelized onions, more cheese and bacon. 
  8. Slowly pour in the filling to reach about a centimeter or two below the top of the crust. 
  9. Sprinkle the top with more cheddar cheese (cheese is my life, aside from chocolate…shhh don’t tell chocolate I said that) and bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  10. Let cool or eat straight from the muffin pan.

These were so good, I’ll definitely be playing around with mini quiches again.  Maybe with spinach and goat cheese fillings or ham and gruyere cheese. The thing I love about quiches is that the filling options are endless!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Mini Breakfast Quiches

  1. Took this mini quiches to the office party, it’s all gone in 10 minutes.🙂 I use turkey ham substitute for bacon for muslim workers.

Leave a Reply

