Matcha Melt-in-your-mouth Meringues

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.55.35 PM

Meringues are pretty delicious snacks. I’ve always loved them because they seemed to me what the perfect mouthful.  Like cotton candy, they just dissolve into a caramelized sweetness as they come in contact with your tongue.  But what I like is that the meringue has a more lasting mouth feel.  I’ve made meringues multiple times, plain, with chocolate chips or even with matcha (green tea).

I’ve been playing around with green tea a lot and I found that mixing the bitter earthy powder into these meringue makes these a sweet mouthful with a subtle hint of bitterness that perfectly balances the two flavors.  I don’t know if meringues are normally a little chewy in the middle, but these meringues were. Perhaps it was because I didn’t keep them in the oven for long enough, or maybe it was a little humid outside.  Either way I actually preferred them with this slightly chewy interior. Perhaps I have just been over baking meringues? Anyway these were perfect.  The outside crumbled and dissolved into a sugar-y cloud in my mouth, but the interior was slightly chewy, like caramel that lingered and allowed me to really savor the flavors of matcha and sugar.  Definitely delicious!

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-2 egg whites*
-1/4 tsp cream of tartar
-pinch of salt
-1/2 cup sugar
-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
-3/4 tsp matcha powder
Garnish
-1/4 tsp powdered sugar 
-1/4 tsp matcha powder
 
*Use the leftover yolks for recipes like chocolate cream pie , I know I will😉

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 225 ºF and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix the egg whites with a electric mixture until frothy.
  3. Add the cream of tartar and salt and beat until soft peaks form.  Lift the beaters straight out of the bowl, the tops of the egg whites should droop over.
  4. With the mixer on high, beat in the sugar 1 tablespoon at a time.
  5. After you add in the sugar, add in the matcha and beat until the whites form stiff peaks.
  6. Add the vanilla and beat until just blended.
  7. Spoon or pipe the meringue onto the baking sheets about 1 inch apart.
  8. Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour.  Then turn off the oven and let the meringues sit in the oven for an additional 30 minutes.  For chewier centers, pull them out of the oven after 15 minutes.
  9. Let the meringues cool and peel them from the parchment paper.
  10. Mix together the matcha powder and powdered sugar and sift over the meringues.

Store in an air tight container with layers of parchment paper or eat right away.  I feel like you can make multiple different types of meringues with various flavorings.  I’ve tried them with chocolate chips, which break up the air-y texture, but I think next time I’ll try chocolate shavings so that they melt and meld into the egg whites. Or perhaps I’ll flavor them with some jam? The possibilities are endless!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

P.S. My friend has let me know about the at-home cronut recipe that Dominque Ansel has released.  I have accepted the challenge of sorts, so please stay tuned for this, though I can’t promise that it’ll be soon!

7 thoughts on “Matcha Melt-in-your-mouth Meringues

    • They were so delicious and pretty easy to whip up if you have an hand mixer/electric mixer! I think though, I need to make them smaller, so they’re more bite sized🙂
      Let me know if you make them🙂 Would love to see photos!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Swirl Meringues | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

