Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.31.13 PM

Happy December! Now that Thanksgiving’s over, we can start getting ready for christmas right? Either way, I can’t think of any better way to kick off this holiday season with these chocolate peppermint cookies.  Chocolate and peppermint go so well together and I feel like they truly represent the cold winter months.  The warmth and richness of the chocolate is balanced by the cool kiss of peppermint.  It kind of reminds me of drinking hot chocolate while walking through the snow.  Also the peppermint comes from candy canes. Because to me candy canes = winter holidays.  I used to love trying to lick the candy cane into a nice sharp point without breaking it.  Wait, I still love doing that, I just can’t stand the sugar for very long and end up tossing the rest of the candy cane. Anyway, I’m getting off track. I’ve been really into baking cookies lately and I think it’s because they seem like the baked treat of choice in the winter. Especially with holiday cookie swaps.  I’ve actually never done a cookie swap before and I don’t think I will be participating in one this year, but I’ve decided that this month, I would try and make as many kinds of cookies as I can.  Because along with being a choco-holic, I am a cookie monster.  I’ll probably be making different varieties of these chocolate peppermint cookies, I was originally going to sandwich the two chocolate cookies with some peppermint frosting or whipped cream and then roll the edges in crushed candy canes, but maybe I’ll save that for another time.

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.31.23 PM

Instead, let’s get started making these delicious cookies!

Ingredients:

Cookies:
-1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter 
-1/2 tsp vanilla paste
-2 tbsp granulated sugar
-1 egg
-1 cup AP flour
-1 pinch salt
-1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
-2 candy canes
Garnish:
-1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
-2 candy canes 

Directions:

  1. Beat together the butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.  Add in the vanilla and the egg and beat until incorporated.  Stir in the cocoa powder, salt and flour until just combined.  Crush the candy canes until they’re almost powdery, there should be small shards, but the pieces should be no bigger than a pea.  Sprinkle the candy cane powder into the dough and knead until well incorporated.
  2. Shape the dough into a rectangle and wrap tightly in plastic wrap.  Place in the fridge for 30 minutes or overnight.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  4. Roll out the dough until about 1/8 inch thick and cut into rounds. You can also use fluted cookie cutters or basically any cookie cutter of your choice. I found out that this dough retains it’s shape beautifully when baked.
  5. Place the cookies on the tray about an inch apart, these cookies also don’t spread much, hence why they keep their shape.
  6. Bake for 6 to 8 minutes and cool on the trays.
  7. While the cookies are cooling, crush the remaining 2 candy canes. These can be any size you want. I like to crush them by sealing them in a plastic zip top bag and using a rolling pin to crush them.
  8. Melt the chocolate in the microwave in 15 second bursts until the chocolate is melted. Melting them slowly will temper them, thus allowing the chocolate to set at room temperature.
  9. Spread the melted chocolate over the tops of the cookies and sprinkle with candy cane pieces.  I like to do this over a wire rack fitted inside a rimmed baking sheet for easy clean up.

What’s your favorite holiday cookie? I’d love to swap recipes!🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad I could convince you to reconsider your stance on cookies, though hey, if you don’t like cookies it’s no big thing, there are plenty of other yummy treats out there!😀

Leave a Reply

