Earl Grey Tea Cookies

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.27.52 PM

I told you I was a little obsessed with baking cookies! This time I’m sharing a delicious tea infused cookie recipe.  Ever since I was little, I liked nothing more than to curl up with a good book, a hot cup of tea and some cookies. I just thought that there was no better way to while away the afternoon. Nowadays, I like to bake away the day, but there’s always enough time to sit back, pour myself some tea and curl up with a good book (or a text book) and eat delicious snacks straight out of the oven.  Sure freshly baked cookies may have resulted in burnt fingers and tongues (not that I have multiple tongues), but I learned that it’s just so worth it.

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.27.33 PM

I came across this recipe for tea flavored cookies at Food 52, a fun website where I peruse recipes and cry over the beautiful bakeware that I have yet to afford.  These cookies called for rooiboos tea, which I really like, but did not have on hand.  Instead I just used what tea I had and that was earl grey.  When I first made the recipe, I basically followed it to a tea (hehehe) except when I bit into them I was disappointed to find out that they were overly sweet. The sweetness of the sugar had completely overwhelmed the subtle notes of Bergamot and I was crushed.  But since I could pinpoint what the problem was, I squared my shoulders and made a second batch.  These were much better. I also shaped them differently and I like them much better than the round ones.  I think that these cookies could be made with any tea of your choice, so go for it! I’m even thinking of making these with jasmine tea. I always though jasmine had such a lovely floral scent….

Anyway, let’s get started! Or else I’ll just drift off into blissful daydreams about tea and forget all about this post.

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup vanilla sugar
-2 tbsp Earl Grey tea leaves (about 5 teabags)
-1 1/2 cup AP flour
-1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
-1/4 tsp salt
-1 tsp vanilla
-2 tsp milk

Directions:

  1. Toast the tea leaves in a small pan until fragrant. Transfer them into a bowl and allow them to cool. Crush the tea leaves with a spice grinder our your fingers to get rid of any large tea leaves. You don’t want them getting caught in your teeth afterwards.
  2. Mixed the crushed tea leaves, sugar and butter in a large mixing bowl until well combined.  Add the flour and mix until combined.
  3. Once the flour is all incorporated, add in the milk and the vanilla and mix until a dough begins to form.
  4. Gather the dough into a ball and roll gently into a log. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap. Now at this point you can keep the cookies round or you can shape the log into a square by shaping the dough using the table. I like the bring the press the log down a bit so that the bottom flattens and rotate the dough and repeat until it’s a perfectly shaped square.
  5. Chill the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes or overnight.
  6. Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  7. Take the dough out of the fridge and slice into 1/3 inch thick slices.  Lay them out on the parchment paper about 1 to 2 inches apart, the cookies won’t spread much and bake for 12 minutes or until the edges are just beginning to brown. Cool for 5 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack.

I really liked these cookies, they smell so wonderful and of course they go very well with a cup of earl grey tea. I’m thinking of maybe warming the milk in the pan along with the tea leaves for a bit to get more of the earl grey flavor, but am unsure as to how they will affect the leaves (will they rehydrate and become soggy little leaf pieces or will it really boost the tea flavor).  I’m also dying to try this with some other teas, specifically hojicha (a nutty Japanese tea) or Assam or even English Breakfast.

Let me know what your favorite tea is!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

4 thoughts on “Earl Grey Tea Cookies

    • Yes! Tell me how it goes with the chamomile, I was thinking about it, but wanted to do something with Earl Grey first :p
      I’m going to try jasmine tea this weekend and see what kinds of cookies I can make with that.

  1. I’m so glad this recipe calls for so little sugar. I’m going to modify this to fit my Trim Happy Mama plan and that’s good to know it doesn’t seem to need the sugar as much for body. Maybe the milk could be warmed with tea and then strained and that tea discarded.

    I attended a tea seminar in Epcot years ago and Lady Grey cookies were served – they were awesome!

    Thanks!

    • Hi Becky! I apologize for the delayed response. How did the cookies turn out? I usually like to limit the amount of sugar for all my bakes so that it isn’t too sweet.
      I have tried making them by infusing the milk and that works as well, but I found that it didn’t have quite as much of the earl grey flavor as I hoped…Or maybe I just needed to add more tea leaves🙂

Leave a Reply

