Chocolate Gingerbread Scotties

Screen Shot 2014-12-20 at 10.48.25 PMSo I’ve been on a bit of a cookie baking binge. To prove it, I’m currently planning to make a gingerbread house from scratch. It should be fun.  Anyway, I thought I would share this recipe with you since I made these chocolate gingerbread scotties a while ago and they were recently regrammed by Food and Wine. I’m beyond humbled and ecstatic and excited that Food and Wine regrammed my photo of cookies.  FYI my instagram handle is les_saveurs_de_mimi. I confess I’m much better at posting on instagram than I am posting on my blog. I promise that I will try to remedy this. It shall be a new year’s resolution.

Anyway, back to the chocolate gingerbread scotty dogs. I love gingerbread and I love chocolate, so I thought why can’t they taste good together? They do. I also personally like my cookies on the crisper side. They hold better when you dunk them in milk or hot tea. Trust me, I’ve tried and cried over dunking a chewier cookies in milk and then finding that the bottom have has sunk to the bottom on my milk glass. Okay it’s not that bad, but it was still sad.  Man I can’t seem to stay focused on the Chocolate Gingerbread Scotties.  Okay so back to these beauts. These were so delicious and so cute, I hope you try making them as well. I tried making them using cocoa powder and baking chocolate. The baking chocolate came out weird I think because I dropped the chocolate in with the bubbling hot molasses butter mixture and they overheated and broke, causing a really greasy crumbling cookie dough (it’s as gross as it sounds). I mean they still turned out well, but the dough was just difficult to work with. Also it may yield better results if you melt the chocolate separately…This clearly needs more scientific cookie investigation…But since everyone around me is on vacation/sick of gingerbread, I shall have to do this test back in Japan (I leave THURSDAY!) where they aren’t sick of gingerbread yet…

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
-1/2 cup molasses
-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-1 and 3/4 cups AP flour
-3/4 cup cocoa powder
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp salt
-1/2 tbsp ground ginger
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter in a small sauce pan.  Add the molasses and sugar and heat over low heat until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Turn off the heat and allow the sugar-butter mixture to cool.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the AP flour, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, salt, baking soda and spices.
  3. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the sugar-butter mixture into the well.  Mix until well incorporated
  4. Knead in the remaining cocoa powder, until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl.
  5. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for at least 3 hours.
  6. Once the dough has chilled through, roll out the dough on a flour dusted surface until it’s about 1/8 inch thick.
  7. Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper.
  8. Cut out the dough using any cookie cutter that you like. I liked the scotty dogs, but you could also use gingerbread men, snowflakes or even scalloped rounds.
  9. Lay the cookies on the sheet about one inch apart (they shouldn’t spread out too much) and bake for about 5-9 minutes.  If you want crisper cookies, bake for at least 9 minutes, for chewier cookies, bake for 5 to 7 minutes.

I gave some of these cookies to my co-workers as plane snacks and they really enjoyed them! I think they’re the perfect holiday cookie for your favorite chocoholics.  They are also pretty sturdy cookies and I think they would make excellent gifts.

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Gingerbread Scotties

  1. Pingback: sweet spots | sweet salt crunch

Leave a Reply

