Chocolate Tartletts

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.39.43 PM

Okay. So confession time: I made these tarts weeks ago. Like during Thanksgiving break and I didn’t get a chance to post this, so I apologize for that.  I also apologize for being MIA these past few weeks. Work has been pretty crazy since we’re all about to go on vacation.  Also since I’m on this confessional roll, I’ll also confess that these tarts can be made without a oven. What? Yes, you read that right. You can make a chocolate cream pie without an oven. Okay, if you make your own pie crust then you will need a oven to bake it, but if you went with a cookie crust or a store bought pie crust, you can tell your oven to take a break. You don’t even need a stove for that matter. All you will need is a microwave. Isn’t life just lovely? I’ll answer that for you, it is. I love the fact that I have discovered a way to make chocolate cream pie in less than 10 minutes. Let me repeat that, less than 10 minutes. Trust me, your taste buds and stomach will thank you. My thighs on the other hand, are not thanking me at all. But hey, you win some, you lose some or in this case gain some unnecessary pounds. Oh well. I still like chocolate cream pie and to be honest, in the whole scheme of things, we’re all going to end up like wrinkly old prunes in the future anyway, so why not just live in the moment and eat some delicious things? I find that the more you limit your gastric intake, the more cranky and irritable you get. That may just be me, but let’s be honest, everything is good for you in moderation and hey if you really feel guilty you can go hit the gym or go to a spin class.  I think as long as you have that balance, eating whatever you want shouldn’t be a problem. Though I’m no nutritionist, so don’t go overboard or else you are guaranteed to get diabetes and then things will get ugly.

Back to these chocolate tarts. Let’s just leave it at this: less then 10 minutes, delicious, mini tarts! Chocolate! Go bake! Seriously, you probably have the ingredients already.

Ingredients:

-6 pre-baked tart shells
-2/3 cup whole milk
-3 tbsp granulated sugar
-1 tbsp cornstarch
-1 pinch salt
-1/4 tsp vanilla
-1 egg yolk
-2-3 ounces chocolate chips (bittersweet)
Garnish:
-1/4 cup heavy cream

Directions:

  1. In a microwavable safe bowl, mix together the sugar, milk, cornstarch, salt, vanilla and egg yolk.
  2. Cover in plastic wrap and press down so that the plastic wrap adheres to the surface of the egg mixture.
  3. Microwave in 25 second bursts. Mixing thoroughly between each burst. Repeat until the mixture reaches a custard-y consistency.  I find that about 2 to 3 bursts should do it.
  4. Add in the chocolate and let the heat of the mixture melt the chocolate.
  5. Make the whipped cream.
  6. Fill the tarts and garnish with the whipped cream.

These tarts are best eaten at room temperature.  If you aren’t eating them right away, wait to make whipped cream. I like making whipped cream just before using it, so that it stays fresh.  The tarts will keep in the fridge for about a week, assuming that they last that long!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Tartletts

  1. Pingback: Raspberry Tarts | Les Saveurs De Mimi

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Desserts! | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

