Chocolate Sables: Miette style

Hi!

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 7.15.02 PM

Wow, how can one epically fail at New Year’s resolutions? I don’t know, but I do know that I promised to make a blog post every week and then last sunday I completely failed.  Okay, to be honest last sunday I had just flown into NYC from Tokyo and I was a little jetlagged, so I guess that’s my excuse, but I also don’t want to let excuses like that crop up willy nilly.  So I rethought my resolution (that’s still do-able right?) and came up with something a little better.  This year, I will try my best to write a blog post as least twice a month and the posts will be uploaded on sundays for consistency.  The reason why I decided to lessen the blog post number is because I want to be able to really think about my posts and post something that is both executed right and photographed appealingly.  I don’t want to scramble to write posts that are sloppy with not that great photos.  Okay, now that I got that off my chest, I want to share this incredible recipe with you.  I got it from the Miette cookbook that my sister’s boyfriend, Scott, got me for christmas.  How did he know that I wanted this cookbook more than anything? I don’t know.  I literally unwrapped it and nearly jumped out of my skin because this cookbook had been on my amazon wishlist for MONTHS and by sheer coincidence, Scott had gotten it for me. Last week, I tried making the chocolate chip cookie recipe in the book. It was DELICIOUS and last night I tried the Chocolate Sables.

I mustache you a question....

I mustache you a question….

They were so delicious and chocolate-y.  The cookies were crisp and studded with little pockets of chocolate.  I shaped them into mustaches, using the mustache cookie cutters that my coworker had gotten me for christmas. Do I get the best christmas presents or what? Anyway, they were absolutely delicious! I thought about adding a Mimi twist to them, but I thought why not try the original recipe first without tweaking anything (with the exception of reducing the sugar a bit) and go with it.  The dough came out really crumbly (is that a word) so I had to add some water to make it come together and to roll it out.  Definitely going to try this recipe again. Chocolate sables are absolutely delicious! I also know that the Bon Appetit sables are to die for as well, so there’s also that recipe that I have to try….whoops getting off track…

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 cup AP flour

-1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter)

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

-1/2 cup granulated vanilla sugar

-1/4 tsp sea salt

-3/4 tsp vanilla paste

-3 1/2 oz 71% chocolate, chopped very finely (the book says grated, but I used thin chocolate bars so I couldn’t properly grate them)

-1-2 tsp water

Directions:

  1. Stir together the flour, baking soda and cocoa powder into a bowl and set aside.
  2. Cream together the butter, sugar, salt and vanilla until light and fluffy.
  3. Add in the dry ingredients and the chopped chocolate and mix until combine.
  4. If the dough remains crumbly and doesn’t come together, add in water 1/4 tsp at a time.
  5. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat the oven to 350ºF.
  6. Roll out the dough about 1/2 inch thick on a well floured surface (if the dough is too soft, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 30 minutes). Cut out shapes using a mustache cookie cutter or if you like your cookies simple, into 1 inch by 1 inch squares.
  7. Place them about an inch or two apart on the baking sheet (the cookies don’t spread much) and bake for 10 minutes.  Once the cookies are done, let them cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

I think next time, I will think about sprinkling a little fleur de sel on top of the cookies before baking so that the salt elevates the flavor of the chocolate or maybe chopping up some nuts and sprinkling them in the dough. Additionally, I thought about rolling out the dough thinner (about 1/3 or an inch or so) and making little cookie sandwiches with almond butter or maybe some homemade caramel.  Of course these cookies are also just as delicious by themselves.  They’re intensely chocolate-y without being overly sweet.

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

 

Leave a Reply

