Raspberry Tarts

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 11.28.31 AM

Hi Everyone!

I hope you’re all doing well! So far, I feel like my resolution to continuously update my blog has been successful (my other resolution to stop biting my nails has also been pretty successful)! I also wanted to make another resolution (is it to late to make one?) to get to know my fellow food bloggers more and maybe if possible, meet up with them in person one day since that seems like it would be fun!

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 11.28.44 AM

Anyway,  I know I’m always making mini tarts (pecan tarts, chocolate tarts), but the other day, I made some adorable raspberry tarts and I wanted to share them with you! I know raspberries are definitely not in season, but they were selling this huge carton of them at Trader Joe’s and I just couldn’t resist.  They weren’t as sweet as the summer berries, so instead of eating them by themselves (which I am more than likely to do) I decided to sweeten them up a bit with some pastry cream and of course a tart shell.  I made them for the annual Holiday Gift Exchange that me and my best friends do  and I made half of them with vanilla pastry cream and the other half with chocolate, because well we’re all a little obsessed with chocolate. And then I got a request to make them for game night with my friends tonight, so I thought well I’m making them two days in a row, instead of giving you guys suggestions of tweaking other recipes, I’d just post another blog. I apologize if it’s repetitive. I’m also going to be baking some more today, so if those recipes come out well, I may make another blog post🙂

So let’s get baking!

Ingredients: 

Pate Sucrée
-1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
-8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, well chilled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
-2 tbsp plus 2 tsp chilled shortening*
-1/4 cup sugar
-2 egg yolks
-1/4 teaspoon water
-4 drops vanilla 
Pastry Cream
-2/3 cup whole milk
-3 tbsp granulated sugar
-1 tbsp cornstarch
-1 pinch salt
-1/4 tsp vanilla
-1 egg yolk
Garnish
-1 box of Raspberries 

Directions:

  1. Combine flour, butter, shortening, and sugar in medium mixing bowl until the butter and shortening is about the size of small peas. Add yolks, water and vanilla and continue mixing until dough is crumbly. Turn dough out onto work surface and gather into ball. Divide the dough into two parts. Flatten each part into a disc. Wrap tightly in plastic. Freeze 30 minutes or refrigerate overnight.
  2. Once the dough has chilled,  preheat the oven to 350ºF and roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface and cut out dough circles using a cookie cutter slightly larger than the cups in the cupcake tin.  Carefully press the dough into the pan, making sure to keep the edges straight. Use the excess dough to patch and cracks.
  3. Line the tarts with parchment paper and weigh them down with pie weights (I use rice or dry beans) and bake for 15 to 20 minutes until the out edges are a nice golden brown.
  4. While the tarts are baking, make the pastry cream.  You can do this on top of the stove, but since I don’t have a smaller pot and I don’t want to lug out a giant pasta pot to make a small amount of pastry cream, I have started to make it in the microwave.
    1. In a microwavable safe bowl, mix together the cornstarch, salt, half the sugar, vanilla and egg yolk. Set aside.
    2. In a separate microwaveable save bowl, combine the milk and the rest of the sugar and microwave until hot.
    3. Slowly stir in the hot milk into the egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly to keep the egg yolk from cooking.
    4. Cover the pastry mixture so that plastic wrap adheres to the surface of the pastry cream and microwave in 25 second bursts. Mixing thoroughly between each burst. Repeat until the mixture reaches a custard-y consistency.  I find that about 2 to 3 bursts should do it.
  5. To make chocolate pastry cream, simply pour half the pastry cream over 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and let the heat of the pastry cream melt the chocolate.  Let it sit for about a minute before stirring.
  6. Once the tart shells have cooled, fill them with the pastry cream and top them with raspberries.

These were so delicious and cute, I’m sure I’ll be making them again and again!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

 

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Tarts

Leave a Reply

