Chocolate Swirl Meringues

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 9.16.36 PM

So this week’s recipe is actually a spin on a previous meringue recipe that I did last year. I had some left over ganache and a lot of egg whites since I had just made a pair of pear tarts for a friend’s birthday.  What is one to do with leftover egg whites? True, I could’ve tried my hand at french macarons, but I didn’t have almond flour and I didn’t really feel like blending up the almonds that I had, sifting it, blending it again and then sifting it to make them. Okay I was just really lazy. So I made these chocolate swirl meringues.  I found that I love piping the meringues so that they come out looking pretty, but I also found that having just one baking sheet means that half of the meringue batter doesn’t get cooked for an hour and utterly deflates.I guess I have to go check out my neighborhood restaurant supply store soon! Though if you take the slightly deflated meringues and sandwich some raspberry jam, they make delicious and quite impressive treats.

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-2 egg whites*
-1/4 tsp cream of tartar
-pinch of salt
-1/2 cup sugar
-Chocolate ganache
 
*Use the leftover yolks for pate sucree for a pear tart or mini chocolate pecan pies! 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 225 ºF and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix the egg whites with a electric mixture until frothy.
  3. Add the cream of tartar and salt and beat until soft peaks form.  Lift the beaters straight out of the bowl, the tops of the egg whites should droop over.
  4. With the mixer on high, beat in the sugar 1 tablespoon at a time.
  5. After you add in the sugar, beat until the whites form stiff peaks.
  6. Add the chocolate ganache and fold the meringue. I wanted to get streaks of chocolate and white meringue, but I ended up overfolding a bit…
  7. Spoon or pipe the meringue onto the baking sheets about 1 inch apart.
  8. Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour.  Then turn off the oven and let the meringues sit in the oven for an additional 30 minutes.  For chewier centers, pull them out of the oven after 15 minutes.
  9. Let the meringues cool and peel them from the parchment paper.

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 9.16.49 PM

Store in an air tight container with layers of parchment paper or pop them in a bowl and eat right away.  I layered the deflated meringues (flatter ones) with raspberry jam and rolled them in sprinkles for a quick mini birthday treat for my friend.  I think she enjoyed them🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Leave a Reply

