Bacon Treats!

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 9.02.53 AM

As a dog lover, I always want my dogs to be healthy. Luckily for me, they are. Unluckily for me, they live with my parents in Tokyo, Japan. Luckily, I do get the chance to cuddle puppies since many of my friends have dogs. I’ve been dying to get a dog in New York, whether through adoption or fostering, but since I’m almost always at work, I didn’t think it would be fair to the dog.  Dogs (and pets in general) are, in my opinion more than pets. They are life companions. It takes a lot of responsibility to care for one. You have to feed them, walk them, play with them and to leave them at home all alone is not fair to them. Sure you could get a dog walker or a dog sitter, but I think to ensure that your dog stays happy, you have to take care of them.  I mean dogs live for at least 10 to 14 years depending on the breed (more if they’re healthy and treated well).

Donnie(ドニー)

Donnie(ドニー)

I’ve made these dog biscuits multiple times and all the dogs seem to enjoy them. I mean what’s not to like? They’re bacon treats! As someone who loves to bake, I also love baking for dogs because for me, baking for people is a way for me to show that I love them and I appreciate them, so why not do the same to our pets? I mean they love us unconditionally. Truly. I usually only see my dogs once a year now and every year my dad brings them to the airport and my dogs are so excited to see me that I can’t imagine ever leaving them again. But then because life happens, I’m sadly packing after a week or two while my dogs sneak into my baggage and stare at me with their sad puppy eyes. Ugh I miss them so much!!

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 4.43.52 PM

Lucy (ルーシー)

私は犬バカです。実家(東京)では、トイプードルを二匹(ドニーとルーシー)を飼っています。ニューヨークでも犬を飼いたいけど、仕事などでいつも忙しいので (朝の10時から夜の7時半までオフィスで働いています)犬は飼ってません。犬の世話にはいろんな責任がある(餌の時間、散歩、遊ぶ時間など)やっぱりいい飼い主になるため犬は一日常一人ぼっちにさせないほうがいいと思います。私の犬は家族みたいな存在をするので、やっぱり美味しい体にいいもの食べさせたいのです。だから今回のレシピーは犬用ベーコン味のビスケットを作りました。犬のためにおやつを作るのはもちろんとても簡単です。犬には砂糖や塩は良くないので、材料はとても少ないのです。

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 9.02.43 AM

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 cup whole wheat flour

-1 egg

-3 tbsp bacon fat

-1/4 cup water

材料:

ー全粒粉  113 g (グラム)

ー卵 一つ

ーベーコンの油  大さじ三(ベーコンを焼いた後、残った油を瓶に入れて冷蔵庫に置いとくといろんな料理に使えます。例えば、キノコをベーコンの油でソテーするとベーコンの風味がついてとても美味しいよ!)

ー水 60 ml

Directions:

  1. Melt the bacon fat until it is all liquid.  Add in the water and egg and stir to combine.
  2. Mix in the whole wheat flour until a soft dough is formed.  Feel free to add more flour if the dough is too wet or more water if the dough is too stiff.  It should be soft and malleable, but not sticky.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350 ºF and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.
  4. Roll out the dough to about 1/2 an inch thick and using a cookie cutter of your choice, cut out the dough.  Place the treats about 1 inch apart (they will not expand).
  5. Depending on the treat size, bake for 10 to 20 minutes (10 minutes for smaller treats that are about 1 inch long, 20 minutes for larger treats that are about 4 inches long) or until slightly browned.
  6. Turn the oven off, flip the treats and let them sit in the oven to crisp.

作り方:

  1. ベーコンの油を溶かして卵と水でかき混ぜる。
  2. 全粒粉を加え、よくかき混ぜる。
  3. オーブンを175ºCにセットし、天板にオーブン用のシートを敷く。
  4. きじを1.5センチの太さに伸ばし、型で抜き10分から20分焼く。焼く時間はクッキーの大きさによります。小さいクッキー(約1.5センチ)は10分、大きいクッキー(約4センチ)は20分。
  5. 焼きあがったら、オーブンを消し、クッキーをひっくり返しオーブンの中に戻す。オーブンが冷えるまでクッキーを入れとくとカリッと仕上がります(約30分)。

 

Let me know how your dogs enjoy these cookies!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

3 thoughts on “Bacon Treats!

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Desserts! | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

