Valentine’s Day Desserts!

Hi Everyone!

I apologize for not posting consistently. I didn’t post anything last week, I don’t know what happened, but I hope posting three times this week somewhat makes up for it!  Ahaha so much for my New Year’s resolution to consistently blog. My excuse is that it’s the week before Valentine’s Day, which is when everyone wants to make chocolate-y desserts for their loved ones.

As you know, Valentine’s Day (Saturday!) is 3 days away, so I thought I would share some easy dessert recipes that sure to surprise and impress.  Now before you all roll your eyes, I know Valentine’s Day is corny as heck because it’s that one day of the year that you’re supposed to bring on the PDA in the form of chocolates, roses and teddy bears.  I know in Japan, Valentine’s Day is the day that girls offer chocolates to boys and confess their feelings, the boys reciprocate on March 14th, White Day.  In the U.S., it’s a little different.  Guys and girls both equally give and receive chocolates, flowers, etc. Though in my opinion, Valentine’s Day is should be everyday because it’s a day that celebrates love. Love for family, friends and significant others.  And let’s be honest, just because you’re super affectionate for one day of the year doesn’t mean you’re off the hook for the rest of the 364 days.  Now, I thought I would list my top five Valentine’s Day treats for you all, so that you have ample time to practice and prepare your sweet treats.  Now I understand that chocolate is very cliched, but I love chocolate, yes I am aware that about 85% of my blog is chocolate. I tried expanding my horizons, it didn’t work. But let’s be honest, who doesn’t like chocolate? Okay, there are probably some people, in which case you should get them that book they really wanted or take them out to the movies or make something that doesn’t include chocolate. But here, I’ve rounded up some of my favorite chocolate recipes that I think are perfect for Valentine’s Day.

今週末はバレンタインデー!バレンタインデーは日本では女性が男性に告白として手ずくりチョコや本命チョコなどをあげる日です。でも、アメリカとヨーロッパではバレンタインデーは男性も女性も、チョコや花ぬいぐるみなど様々な贈り物を、恋人や親しい人に贈ることがある日です。一般的、バレンタインデーは恋人の日ですけど、私はそうとは思っていません。バレンタインデーは私にとって様々な人(友達、家族、恋人)に「大好きだよ」っと伝える日だと思っています。今年は、皆んなのために私の一番大好きなチョコのレシピーを選んでリストしました。大好きな人に手作りのチョコが一番だと思います!

So let’s get started!

Molten Lava Cakes  (フォンダショコラ)

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 9.30.49 PM

I really love these cakes and they are so much simpler than they seem.  You can make the batter a few hours ahead of time and, bringing them to room temperature before you pop them in the oven, bake them right after your meal for a delicious dessert.  I like to serve it with some whipped cream and powdered sugar dusted on top, maybe add some berries for a pop of color.  You can garnish them with ice cream, caramel sauce, or eat it plain.  It’s delicious either way.

フォンダショコラ大好きです!ふわっとしたチョコケーキにとろけるチョコの中身。難しく見えるけど本当はとても簡単。ただ焼きすぎないように注意!焼き終わったらお皿に盛り付け、粉砂糖、チョコガナッシュやフルーツでデコレーションしてね!

Sweetheart Cookies(ハートクッキー)

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 9.20.54 PM

These are a Valentine’s tradition of sorts for me. I have been making these every year for the past five years? I know it’s not that long of a tradition, but I’ve decided that it’s going to be a Mimi tradition. They’re cute and sweet and perfect for all your loved ones (friends, family, etc.) You can make these with or without the chocolate dipping if you so wish.

私は、毎年このハートのクッキーを作っています。今年で5年目になると思います。このクッキーはとても可愛くて、いつも友達が喜んで食べています!チョコはつけなくていいけど、私はチョコが大好きだからいつもつけています!

Truffles (トリフ)

DSC_0892

Do I even need to explain this one? These are great. You can customize them to fit each recipient’s desires: bourbon-infused, coffee-infused, dusted in cocoa powder or powdered sugar, rolled in chopped nuts or coated in tempered chocolate, use milk chocolate, dark chocolate, or white chocolate…you get the gist. It’s simple, easy and can be prepped a few days before.  Just make sure that you store them in an airtight container in the fridge.

とても簡単なチョコトリフ。生クリームを電子レンジで溶かしてチョコに加える。1分たったらよく混ぜて冷蔵庫に一時間冷やす。チョコが固まったら、チョコを大さじに分けて丸める。丸めたチョコは刻んだナッツやココアパウダーコロコロ転がしまんべんなくトッピングをつけて出来上がり。溶かしたチョコにカルアやリキュールを入れてもとても美味しいよ!

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 11.41.04 PM

Chocolate Tarts (チョコタルト)

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.39.43 PM

Garnish with raspberries, cocoa powder, powdered sugar. These are so delicious and cute that they’re easy to plate and are sure to impress. Even better, you can make these with a microwave.  Make them a few days ahead of time and store in a airtight container for up to a week.  Who can say no to that delicious tartlett? Not me, that’s for sure.

チョコタルトも美味しいよ!サクッとしたタルトきじに生チョコはとてもよく会うよ。盛り付けにラスベリーや手作りホイップクリームが大好き!皆んなも喜んでくれると思うよ!

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 11.28.31 AM

Bacon Treats (犬用ベーコンクッキー)

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 9.02.20 AM

Okay, this one is not specifically for humans, but for our lovable furry four-legged friends and loves: dogs! Because why not show your pups some love with some home made bacon treats? Be warned, these smell really bacon-y and delicious and may make you want to try one. It will taste like a bland wheat biscuit and not at all like the bacon-y goodness that you were expecting.

大好きな犬に犬用ビスケットを作ってあげると絶対喜んでくれると思うよ!人も食べられるけどちょっと味が薄いからあまり美味しくないけどね(笑)

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

4 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Desserts!

Leave a Reply

