March 11: Pray for Japan

11025988_10155264655090587_1572054674673652002_n

This day marks the anniversary of the Tsunami/Earthquake that ravaged Japan.

If you have the time, please go to Yahoo Japan and search 3.11. It only takes about a second. They are currently donating ten yen for every “3.11” search. It’s not a lot, but I think that every little bit helps.

While I personally did not experience this event, I was able to volunteer and take care of the children who were deeply affected through ASIJ’s Summer Day Camp program. The program offered multiple children from the disaster struck areas to come to Tokyo and participate in Summer Day Camp for free. Despite everything they went through, they were positive, energetic children who barely showed their pain and impressed me with their resilience. Despite losing their homes and in some cases, friends and family, they still filled my day with laughter, smiles and happiness.

1798642_10155263427720587_22318950449531865_n

I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer to take care of two wonderful girls from Ishinomaki for two weeks. I will never forget how one of the girls I hosted wanted me to stay with her until she fell asleep because she still had nightmares and I’m glad that my presence was able to ease her fears. I don’t think I will ever forget how much of an impact they made and how much they made me realize that even though we may feel like we lost everything, we can get through anything if we try and if we have the support of people who care. The two weeks that I had with these two girls from Ishinomaki were eye opening, a little trying, extremely rewarding and all together wonderfully fun. I hope that despite everything they were going through, I was able to make them forget the bad things about the tsunami for a while and remember and enjoy the good memories we had together at Summer Day Camp, baseball games and Disneyland.

Hugs and puppies,

Mimi

One thought on “March 11: Pray for Japan

Leave a Reply

