Earl Grey Madeleines

Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 8.52.11 AM

I’ve been on a madeline baking kick lately, and I decided to try and make Earl Grey infused madelines because let’s be honest, madelines and tea are like cookies and milk to me.  I love dipping my madelines in hot tea, so I thought why not add the tea in the madelines so that I can enjoy the flavors together? These came out so beautifully. I absolutely loved how fragrant and delicious they were. Honestly, I think purchasing a madeline pan was one of my best decisions ever! Now to figure out if I want a mini doughnut pan…

But first madelines!

またマドレーヌを作って見ました。今日は、アールグレイを入れてみました。お茶の風味とマドレーヌの味がとっても美味しくてたまりません。マトレーヌの型を買ってすごく嬉しいです。もっと早く買えば良かったかも(笑)

今度はドーナッツの型を買おうかな。。。

Ingredients:

-4 tbsp unsalted butter

-1/4 cup granulated sugar

-1/2 tbsp brown sugar

-1 tsp honey

-2 bags of Earl Grey Tea

-pinch of salt

-1/2 cup AP flour

-1 egg

-1/4 tsp baking powder

材料:

-無塩バター (57g)

-グラニュー糖(50g)

-三温糖(8g)

-はちみつ(8g)

-アールグレイ紅茶 (5g)

-塩(1g)

-強力粉(60g)

-卵(75g)

-ベーキングパウダー(2g)

Directions:

  1. Microwave the butter, brown sugar and honey in a microwaveable bowl until the sugar is completely dissolved (about 30 to 50 seconds). Finely pulse the Earl Grey tea in a spice blender and add to the warm butter mixture.
  2. Combine the granulated sugar, flour, salt and baking powder in a large bowl. Add the egg and mix to combine. Whisk in the butter mixture. The batter will be very smooth.
  3. Cover the batter with plastic wrap and refrigerate for an hour or overnight.
  4. Preheat the oven to 375 ºF and spray a madeline pan with non-stick spray or coat with melted butter.
  5. Spoon the batter into the madeline cavities so it fills it about three-quarters of the way.
  6. Bake the madelines for 5 minutes or until they are lightly golden brown. For regular sized madelines, bake for 10 to 15 minutes.
  7. Unmold the madelines by gently tapping the edges of the pan on your work surface and tilt the pan so that the madelines slide out.

作り方:

  1. 電子レンジで、はちみつ、バターと三温糖を溶かします。紅茶をブレンダーで細かく粉にし、バターに加えます。
  2. ボウルに小麦粉、グラニュー糖、塩とベーキングパウダーをかき混ぜます。卵を加え、よく混ぜる。溶かしたバターとははちみつを加えてよく混ぜます。マトレーヌの生地を冷蔵庫の中て一時間から一晩中ひやす。
  3. オーブンを175ºC予熱で温めます。
  4. マトレーヌが肩につかないよう、肩に溶かしたバターを塗ります。
  5. マトレーヌの生地をマトレーヌの肩にいれ、5分焼きます。大きめのマドレーヌを焼く時、10分から15分焼きます。

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

4 thoughts on “Earl Grey Madeleines

  1. The grey color on the madelines look so pretty! I reckon that matcha substituting the Earl Grey would be good, too.

    And you should definitely get a mini doughnut pan!

    • Thank you!

      Ahaha I was actually JUST thinking that the other day. Definitely going to be playing with madeline recipes this weekend and will hopefully have time to post updates afterwards🙂

      Thanks for the input! I think I just might get one. I’m just debating if I want a mini one or a regular sized one :p

Leave a Reply

